Blog, Sweet Blog

Hormone effects-3 months

Posted on: Friday, September 5, 2008

Mood: Retrospective
Music: Superchunk-Saving My Ticket

Hey there Deirds, long time no write.  Well, I have been plenty busy and writing a lot, just haven’t been writing in here.  I just picked up my fourth prescription so I thought I’d post some new pictures and talk about the effects HRT have had on me so far.  On to the pictures…

*ed. note:  Yes, these are also personal…and wholly unflattering, therefore they will not be included.

Obviously my hair is a bit longer.  It looks like I have more hair on top but it might just be the longer hairs looking like there’s more coverage up there (ugh).  My chin is a little bit more distinct and actually looks like a separate entity from my neck.  The shape of my face looks a bit different, but it’s hard to describe.  It might just be that I’ve lost more weight.  The hair on my upper lip is killing me but I have to grow it out for my weekly electrolysis sessions.  It’s nice that Luanne was able to get that last little patch on my chin.  I don’t know, I’m getting happier with what I see in the mirror/camera, but it’s slow.

Regarding the other body changes…my skin is definitely softer and more thin (I can see the veins underneath easier), more dry as well.  I’m noticing a lot of little wrinkles on my face and I don’t know if that’s due to aging (sigh) or the fact that my skin is thinner and more dry.  My hands get dry easier…it’s almost like a prune hands feeling.

As I said before, my breasts are kind of out of control right now.  I know it’s because I have a lot of body fat right now.  They’re still kind of misshapen like man boobs, but it’s easy to see that there’s more going on than that.

The hair growth on my forearms, chest, and around my navel seems to have slowed down a bit.  Right now, I shave every week, so it’s easy to track my hairs’ progress.  I’ll be so glad when I can go more than a week without shaving and not have it be really noticeable.

Emotionally, I’m still about the same.  Actually, looking back, that first month was pretty hard…like I felt pretty sad or felt like I needed to have a huge cry while I was exercising.  I haven’t felt that like that for a few weeks at least.  I’ve felt either mellow or really happy/giddy, which has been a nice change of pace.  My motivation is pretty high.  I’ve been able to get a lot of stuff done at home.  Work is a different story though.  I feel like I’ve been way more interested in YouTube than getting any work done.  I think the problem is that I’m having a hard time getting started on this new software project and it kind of freaking me out.

What else…I may have mentioned it before, but either my sense of smell has increased or my tolerance for bad smells has decreased significantly.  Like last night, I was walking around the house try to sniff out the source of some foul odor that has permeated the house.  I think it might be the rotting chicken (yes, I know, eww) that’s in the trash in the garage, but I’m not sure.  Hopefully that clears off when the trash gets picked up tomorrow.  If it doesn’t, I’m going to have to burn the house down and start fresh somewheres else…lol, jk!

I may have mentioned this before as well, but my appetite seems to have increased.  Like sometimes, I’ll just find myself at the refiregerator grazing on something and I’ve made oatmeal raisin cookies twice in the last five weeks!  Thankfully, I’m still exercising, not really dieting though.  I’d hate to think what I’d be like if I wasn’t.  Speaking of, I’ve decided that I’m not going to lift weights any more.  I might do some yoga or pilates, but it’s going to be mostly walking, hiking, or bike riding from here on.  I’d rather start from a place of reduced muscle mass and fat and then build from there.  I’m also trying to eat more good carbs (whole grains, vegetable, etc) and less protein and fats.

Oops, gotta go Deirds.  I’m going to call Mom when I get home.

XOXO,

Anna

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
