Blog, Sweet Blog

No I can’t

Posted on: Thursday, April 16, 2009

Mood: Not sure really…ok, but partly cloudy?
Music: Portishead-Nylon Smile

K, so by now you have prolly all heard about how we have this new president (he’s the one in the picture) and how he’s really great and everything, right?  During his campaign, he had a slogan that was like, “Yes we can!” or “You betcha!” or “You know it, Brian!”

Want some more?

“You better believe it!”  “Who wants Mai-Tais?”  “In your face Ruskies!”

Barack Obama

Anyway, it was very popular and other people started using it to simultaneously show support for our nation’s newest president and project an air of hopeful industry.  So, a few weeks ago, our entire institute had a video meeting (which was my first one, kind of cool) with the temporary, boss-type du jour, woman at headquarters.  During the meeting she kept saying, “yes we can” when discussing challenges we may face in the next few years.  Then it dawned on me…oh no, now that she’s using it, we all have to adopt “yes we can” as the default answer for every direct question.  Failure to do so would certainly result in an early dismissal, or at the very least, public humiliation and reprimand.  I know it doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, but indulge me for a moment as I paint for you a word picture

That Guy: Hey Anna, would you do the technical review on this paper?

Anna: Yes we can!

That Guy: *laughs*  I’m sorry, did you just say, yes we can? I just need you to look at it if that’s all right.

Anna: *laughs* Oh, sorry.  Slip of the tongue.

That Guy: *laughs* Oh, no problem.  I still haven’t had my coffee yet. *laughs*.  So yeah, would you give me a call when you’re finished with that paper?

Anna: Yes *mutters under breath* we can.

That Guy: You just said it again, didn’t you?

Anna: What? No! *whispers* yes we can.

That Guy: You know we don’t actually have to say that every time, right?

Anna: Yeh…er…eep!  *runs away*  YES WE CAN!!!

See what I mean?  That could get me into a lot of trouble.  I don’t want to sound like a loon in front of that guy, but it will be three times as weird if I just mutely stare at him every time he askes me a question.  And what if someone asks me to do something inappropriate?  Ugh, is there still time to change jobs?

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
