Blog, Sweet Blog

Ma #2 favorite show

Posted on: Friday, April 17, 2009

Mood: Hating the snow
Music: Black Rebel Motorcycle Club-As Sure as the Sun

Ok, it’s not that television rules my life or anything (I read…really…I just finished a book today in fact…why don’t you believe me?!), but I do try to watch a few shows.  As I mentioned, I love 30 Rock, but my new #2 favorite is NBC’s Parks and Recreation featuring Amy Pohler.  Insert…picture…NOW!

Parks and Recreation

Last night was the second episode and it’s definitely getting better.  It’s weird though, are all of NBC’s comedies going to use that pseudo-documentary style?  Speaking of, I just saw Albert Brooks’ mockumentary Real Life for the first time a couple of weekends ago.  It seems like it might have been one of the first of those types of movies and I liked it a lot…very funny and still totally relevant.  Anyway, I like Amy Pohler a lot too and have known about her since The Upright Citizens Brigade.

So, a little aside here…I’m kind of a comedy nerd, but I think I disagree with most of the nerds out there when I say that I was never a big fan of The UCB or even Mister Show for that matter.  I think they were important for their time, were terrific launching pads for a lot of great talents (why do I sound so smarmy?), and helped introduce the world to “alternative” comedy, but I didn’t think either show was consistently (or often) funny.  Believe it or not, I feel the same way about Blazing Saddles.  Maybe I should watch it again sometime, but I feel like I lost interest in Mel Brooks movies (except for Young Frankenstein) and Mad magazine sometime around 5th grade.  Sorry nerds.  Wanna know what I do like?  For me, Wet Hot American Summer is about as good as a comedy gets.   Pica, pica, picture!

https://i1.wp.com/images.teamsugar.com/files/users/1/13839/22_2007/wet%20hot.jpg

It’s absurd, broad, silly, well-written, thoughtful, razor-sharp, intelligent, sweet, profane, warm, disgusting, and bizarre.  What do we do at the BBQ if we’re vegan? Which brings us back to Miss Pohler (and that is what’s called an awesome segue).  She was great in that movie (so was everyone else) and I have followed her work ever since.  So she’s great, but Parks and Recreation also has Aziz Ansari (from Human Giant) and Rashida Jones (briefly of The Office) and they’re both very good as well.

The final reason I love this show (another parenthetical comment) is that, like other comedies I love, there is  lot of human frailty in the characters.  In other words, they may behave absurdly, but it comes off as real people making the only choices they know how to make under, at times, absurd circumstances.   In the case of Pohler’s character (Leslie Knope), she’s an ambitious public-servant who totally buys the notion of working for the greater good.  Without disclosing too many stalker-friendly details, I also believe in the nobility of serving the greater good and the myth of America.  So if she gets misty-eyed talking about any of that in the show, I’m right there with her.  I’m not sure how this show can fail.

In other news, it’s snowing (really April 17th? Giant snow storm?)  and I took the bus.  The drive in was about 30 minutes too long and I know the ride back will be even worse.  Please join me in praying for an early dismissal today.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,073 hits
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
