Blog, Sweet Blog

Looks at books

Posted on: Monday, April 20, 2009

Mood: Less tired, more anxious
Music: Medusa’s Spell-Prelude

I may complain about it often and at length, but I actually like taking the bus.  It can be a trying experience on occasion, but it’s like I’m made out of time during the work week.  I usually spend my commute time (about 1.5 hours per day) listening to music and reading books…or staring out the window…drooling…a lot.  Since starting the bus a few months ago (February?), I’ve managed to get through…

The Wordy Shipmates by Sarah Vowell

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

The Man in the High Castle by Phillip K. Dick

The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch by Phillip K. Dick

Ubik by Phillip K. Dick

Survivor by Chuck Palahniuk

Pretty good, right?  I’m also about two-thirds of the way through The Book of Lies: The Disinformation Guide to Magick and the Occult but those are all shorter essays, so I can pick it up or put it down as the mood strikes me (and it usually strikes me after a hot bath).

What goes better with words than a thematically coherent picture?

I'm sorry dear, but we're fresh out of books.

So, I’m about to start another book and it’ll prolly be Memoirs of a Geisha or Moby Dick.  Neither of them sounds super appealing right now, but I’m sure they’re both good.  Here are some books that are on my future reading list…

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

More Douglas Coupland…Girlfriend in a Coma, Hey Nostradamus!, or newer

A Scanner Darkly by Phillip K. Dick

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (ha Ha!, and you thought I’d already read it!)

Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (I’m as shocked as you are)

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

All of the Quicksilver books by Neal Stephenson

Tropic of Cancer by Henry Miller

Orlando by Virgina Woolf

Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde

The Atrocity Exhibition and Crash by JG Ballard (R.I.P. btw)

So yeah, that should fix my wagon for the next year or so.   I’m open to recommendations (or gifts) for some light, “filler” books to space out all of the literature I have planned for myself.  What are you going to read this summer?

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
