Blog, Sweet Blog

Cry party, with drinks

Posted on: Friday, May 1, 2009

Mood: Getting over it.
Music: Opeth-Nectar

I’m not going to go into a lot  of detail, but yesterday was pretty bad and I felt like I needed to have a little cry party with drinks.  So I did.  Even though I got like no sleep, I feel a lot better now.  I think it’s prolly just dread about Wednesday and the 1,567,944 things I have to do before then.  Unfortunately, I’ve set myself up emotionally so that most of those things needs to go perfectly.  And if they don’t?  Dunno, but another, more intense cry party with more drinks might have to be scheduled.

In other, though eerily similar, news, today is my last day at work y’all!  See the lighting bolt and kitties?

I am happy and nauseous and have the aforementioned dread.  I don’t have much planned for today, but here’s a tentative list.

1. Write a quick note to the few people I kind of like and let them know what is going on with me and why they’re having this weird meeting on Monday.

2. Print out some lolcats and art pictures and put them up near my door.  I have a few pictures up now, but I thought I’d increase the visual interest at my office home if the entire institute is going to be walking by my door next week.

3. Pick up my office and clean the desk.

4. Maybe do some work.

5. Freak out some more.

6. Go for a run in the rain at lunch.

7. Post another 3(?) blogs.

8. Go home early.

To be honest, if I get three of those done, I’m going to call it a win.  See you again in a few minutes.

2 Responses to "Cry party, with drinks"

It’s going to be legendary Anna, like one of those scenes in the movies where someone starts the slow-clap and then everyone erupts into applause behind the welling soundtrack as the image slow-mos to a freeze-frame of your beaming face. Roll credits. Happily ever after. The End.

Or, you’ll slink in through the side-door and spend the whole day hiding in the copy room with a chair propped up against the door and the light out, fretting about the shade of lipstick you went with because you suddenly decided that there’s no way you can carry off cherry red and not look like a complete whore.

Whichever way it goes down, a week later work will just be work again, and you’ll be fine. Better than fine. So chillax (yes, I actually wrote that) and enjoy your extended weekend. There is only room enough for one emotional breakdown amongst us bloggers this weekend, and I call dibs.

I’m sure you’re right…about the slow-clapping and whatnot. I think everyone should get at least one of those in their lives. I don’t think there will be any opportunity for slinking…I have at least one regular meeting that day and I never wear red red lipstick. So, that’s good.

Yes, of course, if you need to break down emotionally this weekend, please do. I have too much to do this weekend and you have priority. Just be sure you share your hideously damaged psyche with the rest of us, and, for God’s sake, have fun with it! I don’t think I’ll have one until Wednesday or Thursday at the earliest, but I’m sure I’ll write about it either way.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
