Blog, Sweet Blog

They’re talking about me

Posted on: Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Mood: Peaceful-ish
Music: What Not to Wear-Stacy and Clinton making fun of some woman’s wardrobe

So, they had that meeting yesterday…the one where they were talking about me and sharing my most intimate, secret secrets with everyone I work with like it was no big deal.  I’m sure people were asking questions about me and discussing me and thinking things and wondering and moving me from one box to another and on and on.  I had a mini-freakout at the start of the meeting, but that quickly passed.

Afterward, I got wonderful emails from a few people and they all said that the meeting went well.  Everyone seemed to be receptive and taking the news well.  Ok, I’m not sure if this happens a lot, but I guess most people were kind of pissed at how the meeting announcement was handled…like they were going to announce massive layoffs or something.  I’ve heard a couple of versions of this story from other trans-women.  So, I’m not sure how they should be announcing this sort of thing, but maybe they should include a disclaimer like, “oh and btw, no one is getting fired…except for you Larry, you’re horrible.”  So yeah, so far so good, right?  I am a little bit nervous about tomorrow, but I’m kind of all worried out.  Besides, everyone already knows, so there isn’t much more to worry about.

I guess I’m only worried about looking nice and what I’m going to wear.  And I don’t mean that in like a oh pooh, whateva shall I wear to the ball kind of worry.  Turns out, the big big, numero uno boss boss-type boss person is flying out from the mother ship and visiting us tomorrow.  So, now I have to pick something that looks nice, is business-casual, and won’t embarass me or my coworkers in front of the boss.  I was just going to wear jeans or something .

In other news, I got quite a bit done yesterday.  I got my new driver’s license and Social Security card and did some shopping.  I was pretty nervous at the first stop, but I felt a lot better by the end of it.  Today, I think I’ll go for a bike ride then do some more shopping 🙂 and get ready for tomorrow.  That’s it I guess.  I’m doing well and I feel like this might actually work out.

5 Responses to "They’re talking about me"

It has to work out! You are far too wonderful for it not to!

I don’t envy you the wheels of bureaucracy, though they seem to turn more quickly now in the days of “ether” than they did when it took a tree’s worth of forms in quadruplicate to each find their destination before the next cog slipped in place!

My bike would love to go for a ride, but I need to spend some time on my treadmill before parts of me are ready for that; thank you for the inspiration!

And thank you for the kind words that brought me here! Not only the ones you left for someone else, but the ones about me as well…I tried to find a way to say that the other day, but got caught up and commented before I did…

alan

I want pics of your first day outfit, or a video. It’s tough to live vicariously through someone else without visual aids.

All my fingers are crossed for an easy day (for you) tomorrow. It’s making it bloody hard to type let me tell you.

Oh, I had a funny thought about your comment, but it wouldn’t be right to share it here…email. K, fine. You’re special, so I’ll send you something. But you realize that I try to “paint” the “word pictures” already, right? Am I not doing a good enough job? Is my “easel” crooked? Am I wearing the wrong color “beret?” Could I extend this “painting metaphor” and “very funny quotes joke” for another few sentences? Sadly, yes.

Yeah, that Larry. what a jerk.LOLz

I know right? He is so gone. Hey, thanks for talking to me last night Becca…you are teh awesomez. Talking to you and my other friend after work last night was like the best stress reliever.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,191 hits
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
