Blog, Sweet Blog

None more black – part the last

Posted on: Friday, May 8, 2009

Mood: Yes we can!
Music: Ben Folds-Rockin’ the Suburbs

I think this will be the last one of these. I prolly have enough for two more, but I grow weary of this and you get the point. Whilst poring over all of these album covers, you may have noticed some trends in the art direction. So, because I care about you and the new metal band you’re going to start any day now, I’ve compiled a list of do’s and dont’s to consider when designing your band’s metal brand. To wit:

DO use a darker color palette…bonus points for black and gray.

DON’T feature any cute animals (teddy bears, unicorns, kittens), unless they are being sacrificed or are engaged in epic battle with barbarians of some sort…or sorcerers…or maybe each other.

DO include scenes from nature (like trees, forests, fjords, snow-capped glaciers, or mountains…bonus points for mist or fog), occult symbols, medieval woodcuts, or grainy photos from Word War II.

DON’T use photos from your last vacation, dorm room, or MySpace profile…unless they’re totally metal.

DO wear the appropriate costume for the photo shoot. Fur or leather loincloths, Renaissance Fair outfits, any spiked wrist guards, corpse paint, mud, blood, chain or plate mail, helmets, and weapons (swords, knives, maces, bludgeons, battle axes, etc.) are acceptable options.

DON’T wear evening gowns, footy pajamas, clown makeup (seriously), or animal mascot costumes.

DO design a band logo that is completely illegible and includes an upside down cross or other totally brutal graphic element.

DON’T ask your Mom for help with your band’s logo. Chances are, her finger is far from the pulse of what is going on in metal today.

and finally…

DO have fun with it!

To the pictures!


Photobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket
Photobucket Image Hosting
Photobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket
Photobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket
PhotobucketPhotobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket

2 Responses to "None more black – part the last"

Such wonderful art…a camera is capable of beautiful things, but to create things like this from scratch is amazing!

alan

Thanks Alan, I’m glad you like them. Yeah, some of those artists also work in fine art as well. So, it’s not just that they’re talented illustrators who also like metal.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,191 hits
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
