Blog, Sweet Blog

It’s raining raindrops of water

Posted on: Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Mood: Lookin’ for trouble
Music: Julianna Hatfield-The Fact Remains

It took me a few listens to get into it, but I really like Juliana Hatfield’s new album, How to Walk Away.  I’m loathe to keep up with a band for sentimental reasons and I stop supporting them if they lose touch with what made them great (I’m looking at you Weezer, watch it).  It’s not that I want a band to keep playing in the same style and eschew maturity, but I think some bands have handled the transition better than others (contrast The Replacements descent into mind-numbing, radio-friendly, unit-shifting, AOR, dreck with Superchunk’s blossoming into a skilled, smart, adult rock band).

You can prolly guess how I feel about reunion/revival tours tours.  If your band hasn’t put out anything in the last 10 years and you’re getting back together for one last grab for cash, then I say good day to you. There are a very few exceptions (The Smiths, Cocteau Twins) but I skip most of these shows.

Which brings me back to my point–I continue to support Juliana Hatfield because she’s still got it.  But it’s also really nice that she’s been able to stay with me all of these years.  Listening to Juliana Hatfield reminds me of my friend Shari every time.  Shari had like, three tapes in her car and Become What You Are was my favorite.

https://i0.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/61dA8Dg9c0L._SL500_AA240_.jpg
the highest paid piece of ass, you know it’s not gonna last, those magazines end up in the trash

We spent a lot of time driving around (in various states of sobriety) in Shari’s held-together-with-love-and-bubble-gum-car, “Lucky”  listening to those songs.  Shari died a couple of years ago from a freak blood clot in her leg and I was a wreck for days after I heard.  She was so young (we’re the same age) and left a husband and two small girls.  I believe there are people in this world that deserve more time than others and Shari was definitely one of them.  So, listening to Juliana Hatfield still brings up fond memories, but they’re a shade or two more blue these days.

Yeesh, I didn’t mean to get all morose, but it’s been a cold and rainy kind of last two days.  We had a summer like this in 2004 and I was taking a summer class (Probability and Statistics) with my friend, Scott.  After like, a solid week of rain (which is practically unheard of here), we’d had enough and were getting punchy.  We speculated what it would be like if we lived in a more rainy locale, like Seattle or Portland.

Scott:  Oh, it would be terrible.  I’d get suicidal after a while.

Anna:  Yeah, I’d be way more into the occult.

And it’s true, sort of…except for the part about the suicide and the occult.  I like that we have a lot of sunshine here and it makes me feel good.  Who knows what kind of shenanigans I’d be getting up to if it was dark and rainy most of the time?  I bet my art would be better.

Finally, I bought this color of nail polish…

Nicole by Opi Nail Polish...
Shut up, we’re in love.

…and I’m wearing it today.  I love it.  It’s called “Star of the Party” and it’s more of an electric violet than the picture lets on.  I generally prefer darker colors (shocking, right?) but it’s nice to have something lighter for the summer that’s fun, yet still somewhat professional.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,317 hits
June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
