Blog, Sweet Blog

Great green gobs of…

Posted on: Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Mood: Healin’ up!
Music: The Misadventures of Flapjack-“Whale Times”


So, I had my gall bladder removed on Friday the 13th.

See? I’m not making this stuff up, you guys.  My life is as dramatic and exciting as my blog makes it out to be.  Now if I could just figure out how to channel that excitement into more of a jet-setting, wealth-building, award-winning sort of direction.

I was going to do a giant, excruciatingly detailed, daily account of the preceding illness and subsequent surgery, but I don’t really have it in me anymore.  Maybe it’s the pain pills talking?  Maybe this is my body’s reaction to a new, gall free existence?  Perhaps my “brush” with “death” has made me reorganize the priorities of my life/blog?  Ah, so many questions…

Anyway, the short version is that I started getting really sick that Wednesday (Veteran’s Day).  It felt like I had a bad stomach ache that wouldn’t go away and I was nauseous and feverish.  I wasn’t feeling any better on Thursday and had developed a pain in the right side of my abdomen, just below my ribs.  So, I made an appointment with my doctor.

The doctor told me there was something wrong with my gall bladder and that I needed to go to the emergency room to have an ultrasound.  Wendy drove me to Rose Medical Center (wonderful hospital btw, everyone was super nice and professional) and I got an ultrasound, some excellent, intravenous pain medication, and admitted to the hospital just before midnight. I had surgery at noon the next day.

I was supposed to have a laparoscopic cholecystectomy, but the surgeon switched to an open cholecystectomy (meaning, they cut open my abdomen the old-fashioned way) when he discovered that my bladder de gall was gangrenous, full of stones, and falling apart.  I stayed at the hospital for three more days and I’ve been home ever since.

I’m fine now, thanks for asking.  I had my staples out last Friday and I feel about 75% of normal.  But abdominal surgery isn’t something I recommend for, you know, kicks and stuff.  I’m glad they were able to take out my accursed gall bladder without incident, but I’ll not darken their door again…if I can help it.

The doctor said I could go back to work this week, but I decided to take the rest of it off.  We have a short work week due to the Thanksgiving holiday and I don’t feel great about a long commute in my delicate condition.  So, I’ll be back to work on the 30th.

Wowser, that wasn’t shorter at all, sorry.  So, what else is new?  Um, my Mom and Aunt’s visit went really well.  I have more to say about it, but I’m getting really sick of writing.  Stay tuned.  Also upcoming: a list of rock guys Wendy and I would totally do it with and how I started dating Lil John, sort of.

11 Responses to "Great green gobs of…"

Omg near deathz! Imust know the long, discovery channel version of the past week. Think of the children-the children!:)

I will give it to you, but I’m not going to write it out…too long/boring. What about the childrens!? THE CHILDRENS!!!

I’m so glad to hear you didn’t die and stuff!! So what does it mean to be without a gall bladder – do you have to go on a special diet now?

Also happy to hear that your mom’s visit wasn’t the whirlwind of trauma you were hoping it not to be!

Thanks, me too! Honestly, it doesn’t mean anything…I eat the same thing now.

The gall bladder produces bile which aids in fat digestion. The liver also does this, so when the gall bladder is gone, nothing really changes because the liver sort of takes over. The only real difference is that the gall bladder holds a reservoir of bile for times when you need to digest a larger amount of fat. So, I might have a problem if I eat a stick of butter. Thankfully, that hardly ever happens 🙂

Mom’s visit was nice. There’s some sister drama now, but that’s more of a normal state of affairs, which is nice, in a way.

Who you wit’? What da crunk? We be datin’?

Whaaaaaaaat??

Yo, I don’ be commentin’ on de blogs just any time, but I wanna know ’bout this datin’ business.

Specific-like, I have one question: What’s this “sort of” of which you write?

Yo.

Here’s the explanation I sent to another person…

I was talking to a friend after shopping tonight about how it would be funny if I just started dating Lil John out of nowhere and brought him as my date to one of her parties. “Hi Wendy, great party! Have you met my date? His name is Lil John. He’s kind of a big deal.”

Then Lil John would say that one thing he always says and we would laugh and laugh. Ok, maybe you had to be there, but we thought it was really funny.

So no, “Lil John”, I’m not actually dating you or anyone from the Dirty South, nor do I plan to. It’s nothing personal, really. I just hate people from the South. And black people. Just kidding. About the black people part.

Also, http://www.imeem.com/people/DGmFSq/music/YGKhQJQc/lil-john-get-low/

So my written Lil’ John impression is painful to read, embarrassing and probably — but completely unintentionally — racist. Thus my new nom de blog is Big John, which is, according to a friendly fellow bus-traveller, none of the above and the preferred name he calls all of his work associates or as he calls them, “clients.”

Big John, Lil John, Spaghetti John and the Meatball kid, Johnny John Porta John. You can call yourself whatever you want as long as you please stop talking to people on the bus. Bus people are dirty and they bite and I will not have you bringing home a festering case of Level 4 Bus Pox.

Oh, don’t worry — I leveled up my constitution, plus I always cast a 6 save against all pox!

[…] doing with yours?  Mine are off to a decent start.  I actually exercised for the first time since surgery yesterday.  It was a short, mega-freezing walk, but it felt good to be outside again.  And I took […]

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,236 hits
November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
