Blog, Sweet Blog

Art o’clock

Posted on: Monday, December 7, 2009

Mood: Mittens on kittens and warm woolen stockings
Music: Eluvium-I Am So Much More Me That You Are Perfectly You



It’s been a while since I posted some art…too long, I think.

A special fella took me to that Barnaby Furnas exhibition at the MCA a week or two before I got sick and it was a-mazing. I literally got weak in the knees and swooned a little bit in front of the main painting (the one that looks like Flood, might be Flood).  It was gigantic (like 15 feet tall x 20 feet across), and violent and sickly beautiful.  Honestly, I could have stared at it for another two hours.  There were two other really good ones, as well.  I still might go back for some more slack-jawed, awe gazing before it closes.

So anyway, too long without art…I think my recent hospital stay and the thrilling end of my grad school class this week both contributed to moving my finger farther from the pulse of arts on the webs.  In other words, I haven’t been keeping up on the art blogs and I haven’t randomly stumbled across any pieces I immediately fell in love with. So, today’s post is kind of a grab bag of pieces I found over the last hour.  They’re all good and worthy of blog space, but I kind of felt compelled to find something to fill the page.  And if you’ve noticed, I keep trying to branch out and share new styles.  I love pop surrealism and cutesy, brightly colored anything, but I feel one-note if that’s all I ever post.  I hope you appreciate the variety 🙂

Anyway…

Zombie Bank, 84 x 168 inches

Zombie Bank by Wendy White


Track by Wendy White



The two above are amazing.  It took me about 30 seconds  to move from dismissive to captivated.  It’s like they’re alluding to being reminiscent of graffiti and cheap spray paint…they’re so good, it’s sickening.  I love it when artists post their pieces to a website chronologically; you can see how they’ve developed their style and where they might be going.  If you look at Wendy White’s earlier pieces on her site (click one of the paintings), it’s clear that she’s reached a point where she has mastered this particular aesthetic.  ❤ ❤ <3!

16

PAGES 34 AND 35 by Manfred Aescher



Same with this one above, go to his site and look at the series for a while.

Flashlight by Allison Grant


The Old Quarry by Justin McAllister

https://i1.wp.com/www.project4gallery.com/artists/beauchamberlain/images/youfirst_v2.jpg

you first by Beau Chamberlain


21st Century boys & girls golden mountain by SSIN

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
