Blog, Sweet Blog

Hott Guyz, y’all: the rock and roll edition

Posted on: Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Mood: Confused, also dazed
Music: The Moon Lay Hidden Beneath a Cloud-Untitled


So, the other day, I got a comment on my Hott Guyz, Y’all post.  It went something like…

From your list, Noel Fielding takes a & b, hands down. But if we’re talking rock bands & messy hair, I’d say Nikki Sixx is a fairly serious omission.

To which I replied…

I stand by my initial choices (mmm, Russell Brand…the things we could do to each other), but after having seen three seasons of The Mighty Boosh, Noel Fielding does seem like the perfect combination of messy-haired sex god and committed, sensitive, life partner.

Regarding Mr. Sixx, let me begin by saying, “brava, Mrs. Bones. I like your style.” He is still pretty good-looking, but I’m not really a fan. I stopped listening to Mötley Crüe after Shout at the Devil and I lost interest soon after. Still though, as far as messy-haired, sexy rockers go, he’s gotta be in the top five.

Mrs. Bones really got me thinking, though.  Who are these Hott Rocks Guyz, y’all?  What are the qualities I look for in a hott rocks guy(z)?  Is it strictly messy hair or can a talented, sensitive songwriter/musician also get into my pants?  What’s the deal with all the rocking out with the cock out?  Is there an age limit?  Are there any Hott Rocks Girlz that would make the list?  Will Nikki Sixx remain in the top five?  Do any of you understand that I’m referring to my favorite Sleater-Kinney album (The Hot Rock) when I use the term, “hott rocks guyz”?



I suppose you do now, but seriously, it’s a great album…really.  Go buy it from a “record” store or download a digital copy from wherever it is the kids are doing that sort of thing nowadays with the computers and whatnot. Amway, the answers to these questions may surprise you/be found a little bit below this sentence.

I gave this all a lot of thought and put these questions to my friend Wendy one late night after a super succesful shopping excursion.  Which Hott Rocks Guyz would you  do it with? Who would never make the list?  Are there any second-tier Rock Guyz that you might take pity on at the end of the night (see Mayhaps)? Hours later, we had the perfect, exhaustive list of music/artist type-people we’d totally “do it” with.  These aren’t in any particular order and I’ve provided the band names for some of the Guyz if they seem obscure.  I wish I could find pictures of all these guys, but that would take a few minutes less than forever and I have a job and a life and stuff.  Just take my word for it.  There were a few disagreements and those have been italicized for your reading pleasure.  Annotated commentary is provided as appropriate.  As always, comments are appreciated/encouraged.

To the list!

Come to Momma

Ew

Mayhaps

Chris Cornell, Soundgarden

Dave Grohl!!!

Anthony Keidis

Weezer 1

Glenn Danzig 2

Henry Rollins

Noel Gallagher 3

Liam Gallagher 3

Thurston Moore, Sonic Youth

Lee Renaldo, Sonic Youth

Kurt Cobain 4

Morrissey, Morrissey, Morrissey 5

the rest of The Smiths

Lemmy Kilmister, Mötörhead 6

Zakk Wylde

LL Cool J!!!!

Tracii Guns, LA Guns 7

Blackie Lawless, WASP 7

Nikki Sixx

Tommy Lee

James Iha, Smashing Pumpkins

David Vanian, The Damned 8

Davey Havok, AFI 8

Mick Jagger 9

Roger Daltrey

James Hetfield

Nick Cave 8

most of Duran Duran 10

Mark Robinson, Unrest  11

Rick Springfield 10

Ian McCulloch

Mikael Åkerfeldt, Opeth

Josh Homme, Queens of the Stone Age

Peter Murphy 8

Lil John 12

Conor Oberst

Robert Plant

Wayne Coyne, The Flaming Lips

Elvis Costello

Paul McCartney 13

George Harrison 13

Robbie Williams

Scott Weiland, Stone Temple Pilots

Ian Astbury, The Cult 8

Philip Oakey, The Human League

Iggy Pop 14

Blixa Bargeld 8

Lux Interior 8

Sam Beam, Iron and Wine

Mark Lannegan, Screming Trees

Greg Dulli, Afghan Whigs

King Buzzo, Melvins 15

Rozz Williams, Christian Death 8

Jason Hammel, Mates of State

Lou Barlow, Sebadoh

David Bowie

Brendan Perry, Dead Can Dance 8

Dean Ween

Genesis P. Orridge 16

Chris Carter, Throbbing Gristle

Peter Christopherson 17

John Balance 17

Ted Leo

Bruce Dickinson, Iron Maiden

most of Bad Religion

Joe Strummer

Ian Curtis

Usher

Neil Diamond 8

all of New Order

Boyd Rice

Douglas P., Death in June 17

Dr. Dre

Stephen Malkmus

the rest of Pavement

Johnny Cash 8

Jay Z 18

The Beastie Boys 1

Robert Smith 19

Billy Idol

Jim Morrison

U2 1

Matthew Sweet

Trent Reznor 20

Stephen Stapleton, NWW

Paul Weller, The Jam 10

Terry Hall, The Specials, et al. 21

Momus 22

Flava Flav

Ronnie James Dio

Tad Doyle, TAD

Mick Jagger 9

Johnny Rotten

Sid Vicious 23

Mick Jones, The Clash

John Lennon

Ringo Starr

Mark Arm, Mudhoney 24

David Yow

The Grateful Dead 1

Flea 25

Perry Farrell, Jane’s Addiction

Hüsker Dü 26

The Stray Cats

Social Distortion 27

Lars Ulrich 28

Neil Young

Bob Dylan

Meatloaf

Journey 1

Air Supply

Michael Stipe

Moby

Billy Corgan

The Ramones

most of the Pixies

the rest of Mötörhead

Shane McGowan, The Pogues

Axl Rose

Black Sabbath 1

Frank Zappa

Les Claypool

Venom 1

Bobby Liebling, Pentagram

Geddy Lee, Rush

David Lee Roth 29

Chris Novaselic, Nirvana

Andrew Eldritch 31

Slash 30

Pete Townsend 31

Mark E. Smith, The Fall 31

Badly Drawn Boy

DJ Shadow 31

Leonard Cohen

Cliff Burton 31

Mac McCaughn

Lou Reed 31

Devo

Ian MacKaye 31

Jack White 31

David Tibet 31

Michael Gira, Swans 31

Rob Zombie

Jimmy Page


======================================================

1 yep, all of ’em

2 Wendy says he’s really short, but in the fantasy world where I actually sleep with Danzig, he’s like, 6’1″.

3 At the same time, maybe?

4 I can’t remember which of us passed on Kurt…I’m ambivalent.

5 No, I don’t care that Morrissey is, supposedly, asexual.

6 OK, I realize that Lemmy is just about the ugliest man in rock and roll, but I feel like I owe him…something.  Maybe I should just make him dinner or knit him a rock…thing?

7 I still kind of have a problem with hair metal. I spent the hair metal years as an angry, skate punk and it’s still hard for me to forgive and forget when it comes to that particular sub-genre. Still though, they both have the Nikki Sixx moppy, messy black hair thing going on.

8 Trend alert!  I have a thing for tall, raven-haired, pale rockers.

9 Ew, no way.  Wendy’s position is that he prolly made up for his unfortunate lips and teeth with expert cocksmanship.  To me, it matters not, still ew.

10 A crush so old, it’s positively developmental.

11 Well worn territory.

12 LOL, this should be its own post.  We started off talking about rock crushes, but veered into hip hop after someone dropped an LL Cool J.  I was trying to think of some other good-looking rappers, and I blurted out “Lil John!”  Wendy countered that no one is sure what he looks like because he’s always wearing huge sunglasses, mouth jewelry, and a baseball cap.  But still, he made us laugh so hard, he’s staying on the list.

13 Admittedly, Los Beatles did not immediately spring to our minds, too old.  However, at the end of the night, we placed them in order, as you do…Paul, George, John, and Ringo.

14 I think I was pro and Wendy was con.  He’s a weird-looking guy to be sure, but anyone that has written “Gimme Danger” and slept with David Bowie is ok by me.

15 This is kind of a Lemmy thing again, but he’s the cutest Melvin.

16 I’d have to go back to Throbbing Gristle-era Genesis.  He’s mostly female now and has had more genital piercings than any sane person should.

17 Yes, I know he’s gay.

18 Wendy says he looks weird.  I say any man that’s good enough for Beyoncé is good enough for me.

19 I’m against, Wendy’s for.  I love his music, but there are better looking, goth-y singers.

20 I’m against, Wendy’s for.  Even though he fits 8, I’m not really a fan.

21 After we make love, he could sing a medley of “Ghost Town”, “Nightclub”, and “Things Could Be Beautiful”!

22 I think it’s the eye patch.

23 Maybe the Gary Oldman version.

24 Wendy said he’s an asshole too.

25 The reason I’m against is because I saw the Red Hot CHili Peppers at The Ranch Bowl (live music + bowling!) in Omaha when they toured in support of The Uplift MoFo Party Plan.  It was a great show, but I distinctly remember the goobery snot and boogers around Flea’s mouth area during the show.  It’s like he entered some sort of idiot savant zone and his brain temporarily traded an interest in personal hygiene for amazing bass playing.  His boogers haunt me to this day.

26 I LOVE this band, but there is no way I would ever sleep with any of them.  Greg Norton was the best looking of the bunch, but that giant moustache made him look more like a Tom of Finland model than a gentleman a straight woman should “spend time with.”

27 You know what, Internets?  Fuck Social Distortion, fuck Mike Ness, and fuck you if you like them.  This band is/was about as punk as The Starland Vocal Band and all the people out there that claim them as some sort of punker than thou link to their youth are nothing but first degree posers.  I’m so sick of people claiming them like they were the only/best punk band to make it out of the 80’s.  If you like themreally like them, then we can’t be friends.  Sorry.  Also mega-dumb: Jimmy Buffett and Dave Matthews Band.

28 It’s too bad really.  If he would have just kept his German yap shut about file sharing and music piracy, he could have had a shot with me.

29 Ok, these days, whenever I think of David Lee Roth or 80’s hair metal, the only thing that comes to mind is Dr. Roxo, the rock and roll clown, and his music video.

30 We had a long talk about this one.  Slash could be a good-looking guy if he took a shower, put on a shirt, stopped dangling that one cigarette out of his mouth, washed his hair, stopped wearing that big, dumb top hat, and put down his guitar for like, one day.

31 Under the right circumstances (booze, drugs, Christmas, peace in the Middle East), his talent outweighs his physical limitations.

6 Responses to "Hott Guyz, y’all: the rock and roll edition"

hi
and here is the photo blog of legend leonard cohen ;
http://leonardcohenphotos.wordpress.com
help us!

I’m not sure what you (or LC) need help with, but I approved your comment. You saw how I ranked Mr. Cohen, right? I’m not really a fan, but I certainly respect his oeuvre. Ooh, that’s fun to say…oeuvre, oeuvre, oeuvre. Here’s some poorly/phonetically spelled French nonsense…ques qua c’est? Quel temp, mon frer? Garcon! Avec fromage arret Mademoiselle!

I think I’d still be all up ons James Iha when he’s 80 and resembles George Takei. Really enjoyed reading the rest of your list.

Aww, thanks! Oh, for sure…and George Takei has that crazy/sexy voice. I’d make him read poetry before and after.

I must commend you on your in-depth and thorough analysis of the ever-pressing issues of the day. Truly, do-able rock stars are hard to come by as, for me at least, they have to meet a 27 item composite before earning their “eagle” badges. (you can’t go around like a Cameron Crow hussy with this sort of thing.) Anyway, kudos and is that snow animation or am I having a seizure? 😛

I thank you for your praise and receive it in the spirit with which it was intended, et cetera!

Pray, share with us your 27 step eligibility program with which traveling, popular musicians may bed you! My program is slightly shorter. They must be, a) ranked as “Come to Momma”, b) still be attractive, c) not skeevy, and d)willing to buy me dinner first.

Nope, seizures. Just kidding, it’s snow! Happy holidays and good cheer and whatever!

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
