Blog, Sweet Blog

<3 McSweeney's, y'all

Posted on: Friday, December 11, 2009

Mood: Fa la la, fa la la, Christmas!
Music: Tight Bros From Way Back When-Show Me






Perhaps you’ve heard of a little, genius, and at times, ridiculously funny Internet and print publishing venture known as McSweeney’s? If you haven’t, for shame, Internets, really.  Please click the following links to increase your knowledge of “actual post-modernism at its finest” and let’s not let this sort of thing happen again, hmm?

The McSweeney’s Wikipedia page

The Official McSweeney’s site

A page about LOLcats

Anyway, McSweeney’s, love.  I’m no expert on English literature or literary journals, but McSweeney’s is the sort of literary journal a girl like me can really get behind, you know?  It has amazing writing, great art, interesting topics and guests, and it doesn’t seem to take itself too seriously….which is like the literary equivalent of turning lead into gold…because it’s so hard…since they’re always so serious and stuff.

I think I first heard of the site around 2004.  This is one of the first things I read…

P U N C H L I N E S   S U G G E S T E D
B Y   A S H T O N   K U T C H E R
F O R   P U N K ‘ D T H A T
W E R E   R E J E C T E D
D U E   T O   T H E I R
A R C H A I C   N A T U R E .

BY AFROOZ FAMILY

– – – –

You’ve been hoodwinked!

You have been beguiled by my cohorts!

You are the victim of our flimflam!

You, unfortunately, are the jestee!

You are the one who was hornswoggled!

It is you the gomeril!

The previous contingency was an apery!


…and it still makes me laugh, every time.  They’re all good, but I think the last one is my favorite…apery!

The other day, I decided that I want to become a published by McSweeney’s author, either by the Internet site or the journal.  I’m funny…ok, amusing, at least…and the writing on the site is exactly the sort of writing I’m interested in.  I studied the website submission guidelines (small steps, y’all) and had a look at Blog, Sweet Blog‘s back catalog.  You know what?  I do not write like a person who writes for McSweeney’s, at all!  Nope, not even a little bit.  I think I could, maybe, but I’m going to have to start from scratch.  Besides, I have it on good authority that they will not accept “previously published” works, and that includes anything I’ve posted to my blog.  Nevermind.

So, I guess I’m trying to say I’m working on some pieces to submit to McSweeney’s.  The website doesn’t pay anything and I’m not really doing this so I can lord it over all of you (just watch though, I’m totally going to lord it over all of you if I get a book published).  No, this goes back to something someone said to me some time.  I can’t recall any of the details, but I do remember this quote:

“If you want people to see/love your work, you should submit it to places and show it to people.”

Those are wise words, Anonymous Stranger and I’m trying to follow your advice.  As usual, I’ll let you all know if something happens.

Happy Holidays!

p.s. yes, that’s supposed to be falling snow on the site.  It’s not an eye seizure.

Mercimerci
6 Responses to "<3 McSweeney's, y'all"

Oh, lolz. What hath we unbidden from the lusty grasp of consciousness? I am totally a fan of David Eggers and the McSweeney’s/Believer crew. Every edition of their print manifesto is a bejeweled tome of publishing glory. That and it keeps my coffee table from tipping. They even have a writing center out here.
http://www.826chi.org/
With a drastically mislabeled ancilary commercial venture – I may add.
http://www.windycitizen.com/2007/02/27/826chi-boring-store-eggers

🙂

I thought you might like that 🙂 I’ve been to 826 Valencia in SF. I didn’t know what it was at the time, but I do remember a lot of pirate stuff and cubby holes. Oh! I wish they had a boring store here! Seriously, Eggers, et al. could power entire cities with their genius.

Writing that post may have inspired me to actually buy a quarterly subscription! It’s a season of giving, you know. Hooray publishing!

Yeah. I ❤ McSweeney's, too.

Huzzah! However, I can’t say that that is a tremendously shocking admission 🙂

Yeah, writing that got me hot and bothered enough to plunk down the money for a year’s subscription to McSweeney’s quarterly and The Believer…which is kind of a repeat of the comment above, sorry.

I, for one, welcome our new literary humor overlord.

Too soon?

OMG, me too!!! I just love humor overlords. It’s going to be so great when they get here what with all the bowing and the “yes overlords” and the making tiny, cheese sandwiches for them whenever they want. Wait a second…you said overlord which is singular…and you posted this comment to my blog…a blog where I write “comedy” and OH MY GOD ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT ME BEING THE ONE WHO IS WORD HUMOR OVERLORDING? Aww! You may call me Kodos.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
