Blog, Sweet Blog

Une belle nuit

Posted on: Monday, January 4, 2010

Mood: Supertastic
Music: New Scandinavian Cooking-“Varmland: Christmas Buffet”


Looking down Denver's 16th St. Mall, New Year's Eve 2009. Photo courtesy of denverpost.com



So, I pretty much had the best New Year’s Eve ever this year!  How about you guys?

Lil Big Johnny John John and I decided to spend the night in downtown Denver.  The were two fireworks displays (one at 9 pm, one at midnight) on the 16th St. Mall and hanging out with a lot of Denver on the street seemed like the perfect way to spend the holiday.  We stayed at a really nice hotel (The Westin) and made reservations at an amazing French retsaurant (BistroVendôme).  The fireworks, hotel, and restaurant were all within four blocks of each other, so we thought we’d check into the hotel early, “watch tv,” go to dinner, see the midnight fireworks show, then head back to the room to “drink tiny bottles of mini bar liquor.”

Dinner was tres bon!  LBJJJ and I had mussels, a potato and leak amuse-bouche, quiche with a tossed spinach salad, squab with chicken sausage and cabbage, and a red wine poached pear stuffed with a Gorgonzola cheese filling.  There were four courses and each was paired with a wonderful wine.

I made the dinner reservation for 10:30 in the hopes that we could have a nice, leisurely dinner then mosey/amble/saunter down to the fireworks.  We got to the restaurant early, but we had to wait for 15 or 20 minutes before a table in the main room opened up, but I so didn’t care.  The night had been going so well up until then and I was trapped in a glowing bubble of perfect night bliss.

We spent the dawn of the new decade (it’s weird to say that, bye 2000’s!) with funny hats and champagne in the restaurant, but again, didn’t care.  No amount of fireworks or crowds could have overshadowed the romantic night we were having.

Actually, we did see fireworks that night.  They shot them off the building right across the street from our hotel room and we watched the whole show from the window while we were “watching tv.”  C’est Magnifique!

After dinner, we went to a nearby bar for a few vodka drinks before the short walk back to the hotel. There were more good times, but I’m going to wrap it up here.  This is a family blog, y’all…use your imagination.

So yeah, Best.New Year’s.ever!  It wasn’t what we’d initially planned, but it turned out to be an extremely memorable, romantic holiday.

In other news, John and I both changed our dating site profiles to “seeing someone” and told Facebook we’re “In a Relationship” with each other.  So, I guess we’re like, official and stuff.  Squeeeeeeeeee!!!

Tune in next post for some wacky, yet obligatory New Year’s resolutions!

5 Responses to "Une belle nuit"

🙂 squeee, indeed.

And here are some other made up words that capture these feeling I have…

-wee wee weegle!
-awwwrrrryyyy!
-wooty wooty wooty woo woo!
-hoorayshiiii!

Wow that sounds like the kind of NYE you dream of having, not the sort of thing you actually *do*.

I read a crime novel in my parents’ loungeroom, watched fireworks on TV and went to bed at 12:30. Try not to be jealous. Just try.

Crap, I forgot to add the line, “…and then I woke up” to the end of the story…’cause it was a giant, involved dream sequence. I’ve had maybe three, really fun New Year’s, so I’m quite familiar with your mode of celebration. I doubt I could top this year’s festivities next year, so I may not even try it next year. Again, this is your year and awesomeness awaits.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,236 hits
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
