Blog, Sweet Blog

A salute to time periods past: the Blog, Sweet Blog 2009-ospective

Posted on: Friday, January 8, 2010

Mood: I have the dread
Music: WBLS’s In Control from 7.14.89 feat. Ultramagnetic MCs and 3rd Bass


Margaret demonstrates the low point in Victorian-era Women's athletics, the wildly unpopular, Single-handed Trunk Drag.



I was watching Bram Stoker’s Dracula when I started writing this the other day and I realized, the first five minutes of  that movie are totally metal.

So Happy New Year, y’all.  I realize it’s a little late to do resolutions and wrap-ups (or so says John), but I wasn’t aware of any rules or time limits banning the writing of New Year’s resolutions after January 1st.  I figure, as long as I get something out by the end of January, we’re good.

First, let’s recap the major events of 2009…

-continued basking in the crappy, coming-out aftermath with my parents.

-CAME OUT AT WORK!!!  Seriously, in retrospect, this almost seems like a non-event, but, let me assure you, it was definitely an event.  I don’t think I’ll ever forget the megaWatts of energy expended in sweating worry, HR meetings, legal wrasslin’, and amazing letter writing before the big day, but it was all totally worth it.  It’s hard to believe I’ve been full time for 8 months now.

drove out see my father in Iowa for July 4th weekend, had a great time.  Also saw the mighty Sunn O)) in the mighty Big O.

-finally realized my cat might be trying to kill me.

-spoke at work conferences in both Washington D.C. and Mobile, AL…I should prolly tell those stories at some point.

-renewed my nuptial vows with my first love, Cheese.

-read some books.

went back to graduate school, got an A.

-battled King Ghidorah with Godzilla on Japan’s mysterious Monster Island.

tried internet dating and won.

-made up with my mother and she and my aunt came out to visit.

-had an unplanned gall bladder-ectomy.

-crowned Queen of Donkey Kong.

-won a caption writing contest and got my first professional writing rejection.

Holy wow, that was quite a year, hunh?!  I’ve read how some other bloggers didn’t particularly care for our old friend, 2009, but I thought it was pretty great.  I think my choice to (and following through with) transition helped a lot and waking up from the eight-year long nightmare of the Bush/Cheney regime seemed to lighten up the place considerably.

This is getting long, so let’s take a cheese break and meet back at the next, thrilling New Year’s installment, Viva la Resolutions!

5 Responses to "A salute to time periods past: the Blog, Sweet Blog 2009-ospective"

Congrats on a great year and all your fantastic accomplishments – transitioning, career achievements, study, restoring family harmony, getting a love-life, recognizing the inherent dangers of owning a cat – not too shabby for a single trip around the sun!

No, I guess I did alright. I could do with a lot less action this year.

This next year is yours, you know. I predict great things and bushel baskets brimming with awesome for you this year.

Before my insane jealousy (or jealous insanity) of cheese roils into a frothing rage, I just want to say how lucky I am that you made the courageous choices and stayed true to yourself in 2009.

But, had you just slunk away from your self-actualization, your calling — your cheeses — and withered into a bitter and lonely shell of a person, your writing would still be pants-pissingly hilarious when you wish.

IN fact, perhaps more so. A little more suffering for your art, and “Today, McSweeney’s; tomorrow, THE WORLD!!” And at this point, I am truly equating suffering with all things cheese-related.

However, please remain positive that although it may take longer to become the writer you are destined to be, your journey (sans cheese) will prove the ultimate and best possible path. One that I hope to share.

Without the cheese.

Jealous jealousy? Inane Inanity?

Why thank you, kind sir. There were a few small decisions, but the real decisions seemed fated to be and I merely facilitated their arrival. Perhaps you’re right. I suppose bitter, shell-dwelling, cheese eaters can crank out funny, but I’d like to try juggling funny writing with being happy, for once. Then again, I’ve often said that two things would happen if I moved to a gloomy place like Seattle or London: I’d be waayyy more into the occult and my art would be better. Regardless, you’re coming with me 🙂

Are you really hating on cheese? For why?!!

[…] fine) but I do keep the date on my calendar.  Like I said above, a lot has happened since then (here are the big ones).  I think the process of transition is never ending, but I feel much closer to the end almost two […]

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
