Blog, Sweet Blog

On Governator-ing

Posted on: Friday, February 19, 2010

Mood: Fuh-fuh-fuh-Friday!
Music: Galaxie 500-Listen, the Snow is Falling






I was listening to NPR this morning on my snowy, awful drive to work and I heard a funny soundbite from The Governator, Arnold Schwarzenegger.  He was speaking at  a press conference for something to do with Klamath River water usage.  Here’s the pro recap…

California Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger praised the parties for forgetting their differences in the interests of a better future, then invoked his movie roles as The Terminator, saying, “Hasta la vista” to the dams, and adding, “I can see already the salmon fish are screaming, `I’ll be back.'”

By JEFF BARNARD, Associated Press



Upon hearing this, I thought, “Does he always quote his movies every time he’s out in public?  If so, does he just use lines from his well known movies, or does he try to slip in lines from his entire oeuvre?”  Yes, I say oeuvre when I’m talking to myself.

Honestly, I have no idea whether he does or not.  I hope not. I don’t live in California or follow his career, so I’m totally out of touch with his speeches and goings on.

Anyway, I think you all know where I’m going with this…

Imagined Instances in Which Arnold Schwarzenegger Awkwardly Shoehorns Lines From  His Movies Into His Gubernatorial Duties

Reporter: Governor Schwarzenegger! Any reaction to the Groundhog Day results from Punxsutawney?

Governator: ‘For us, zer is no spring. Just ze wind dat smells fresh before ze storm.’  VIE DO YOU PEOPLE TEENK DEES GROUNDHOG EES TINY WEATHERMAN?!!!


“…so den I said to ze Batman, ‘You’re not sending me to ze cooler!’  Ha ha…because I vas playing ze Ice Man! Get eet?  But seriously, ze Girl Scouts are a wonderful organization and vee tank dem for all they have done for zee great state of Caleefornia.”


While greeting attendees at an Interfaith Prayer Breakfast…

Governator: What gods do you pray to?

Rabbi: Well, I’m Jewish…sooooo, you know, the one God.  What about you?

Governator: To Crom… but I seldom pray to him, he doesn’t listen.

Rabbi: I…sorry, did you say Crom?

Governator: Ha ha ha, just keeding!  Remember that line from Conan?  I also pray to your God!


“To ze bears and ze chipmunks and ze moutain lions and ze moose and ze…majestic buffalo and…all de odder voodland creatures zat call Yosemite home, I say to you, ‘Prepare for a bitter harvest; winter has come at last.'”


Governator: I remember days like dees ven my father took me to ze foreest and vee ate vild blueberries. More dan 20 years ago. I vas just a boy of four or five. Ze leaves ver so dark and green den. Ze grass smelled sweet with ze spring wind..

Woman yelling from audience: Isn’t that a line from Conan the Barbarian?  What about the whales?

Governator: Thank you for ze cookies. I look forward to tossing dem!

Man yelling from audience: That doesn’t even make any sense!  Why aren’t you answering our questions?

Governator: I’m not a pervert! I vas just looking for a Turbo Man doll!

Woman yelling from audience: I think his time in office has dulled him to a cruel, catchphrase-spouting parody of himself.  I pity you and the monster you have become, Mr. Governor.

Governator: Eet’s not a tumor!

I thought I could get in a line from Junior or Twins, but alas, it was not to be.  Is it my fault that those two movies were wholly unfunny and entirely lacking in quotable quotes?

3 Responses to "On Governator-ing"

oh, it’s so true. But, that’s how you keep getting elected in California. That and finding barbells to pump in every natural disaster zone.

http://www.boston.com/news/nation/articles/2009/09/04/schwarzenegger_tours_fire_devastation/

“Wait! What was I doing on Mars?, grwaaaaa!”

Also, JINGLE ALL DA WAY and TERMINATOR 3: RISE OF DA MASHEENZ!!!

Oh.my.God…it is true! I sort of thought, since I wasn’t keeping an eye on him, that he was doing an ok job and not being an obnoxious ex-body builder and action movie star. Color me wrong.

Still though, it’s a funny premise and I encourage all of us to go out there and star in a bunch of movies so we can use lines from those movies as bizarre non-sequiturs during the “press conferences” of our day-to-day lives.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,236 hits
February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
