Blog, Sweet Blog

Not time to cry, blog

Posted on: Monday, March 1, 2010

Mood: tired
Music: Tears for Fears-Mad World


cherry blossoms by Cherry Creek, February 28, 2002



I don’t think I’ll have much time to blog this week, but I wanted to say so in a quick update rather than letting the tubes grow cold and quiet.

The above photograph is from a new photo set of mine on flickr and it’s one that I’ve always liked a lot.  I took them on a cold, late-February Saturday in 2002.  It was the weirdest day.  There had been weeks of nice, spring-like weather and our part of the city decided it was time to green up again.  I was driving to school to visit a friend and I was struck by the contrast between the misty, gray, cold day and the first blush of spring.  It was lovely and magical and I asked to borrow my friend’s camera so I wouldn’t ever forget it.

Speaking of, I just unpacked a lot of old computer files onto a new NAS, so forgive me if I start posting a lot of blog entries and photos from the way back machine.

It was sad to see the end of the Winter Olympics last night, but I was ready for them to be over; I was really emotional for all of them and you can only be an Olympic shut-in for so long.  I don’t much care for sports, but I love the Olympics (winter more than summer).  I love how the Olympics shrink the distance between us and how we all get to experience the hospitality and sights of the host city, at least vicariously.  They’re like a two-week experiment in being a good neighbor and on your best behavior and they always make me happy. I can’t wait for London in 2012!

I think the end of the Olympics means that the business of winter is finally over and that we can start again.  I don’t know about you, but I’m so ready to put this gloomy gray suck-hole of a season back in the box.  The photo and set are also a nice little reminder that spring is coming.  It may not seem like it where you are, but it is.  Really…I have it on good authority.  Until then, courage.

xoxo

4 Responses to "Not time to cry, blog"

The Olympics have a very similar effect on me too.. in fact remarkably so. I’m in Spain for a semester (never left America before) and anticipating the Olympics before I left, I felt solace in the unity of the world. Even if for that fleeting 2 week period. And even if that means everyone seems to be behaving according to Robert’s Rules of Order.

Oh wow, I can imagine that would be hard. I hope you’re having a good time though 🙂 I’m not much of a flag-waver in general, but I think I would be more of one if I was out of the country, esp. during the Olympics. Do you find that nationalism, say in Spain, is worse or about the same during the Olympics? I know what you mean, I’ll take parliamentary procedure over bad manners any day but it would be nice if we could move past that.

Interesting question. I must admit I’ve been pretty out of the current events loop and didn’t really notice much of a change in patriotism before/during/after the Olympics. The big deal in Spain is the impending World Cup… FUTBOL FUTBOL FUTBOL! Also, after Franco, the nationalistic mood of Spain has tempered (it seems) quite a bit. When I asked some classmates in a class if they had Spanish flags in their homes, they laughed at me!

Interesting…the only experience I have with the Spanish is a summer I spent working with a college-aged Spanish boy at a summer camp on the east coast. He was a nice guy, but very full of himself and always ready to tell us how great Spain was. Looking back, I think it had more to do with his homesickness and trying to keep his identity in another country than being an actual jerk.

I like your blog, btw!

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,317 hits
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
