Blog, Sweet Blog

Goodwillin’

Posted on: Saturday, March 20, 2010

Mood: Cagey
Music: Camera Obscura-I Need All the Friends I Can Get



I sure wish my job was Internetting, because I’d be sooooo productive, all the time.  I should be cleaning (or otherwise getting ready for my sis to come over) right now, but I thought I’d share some of my recent Goodwill finds instead.

I went there in search of a flower vase or two, some picture frames, and scrap fabric for embroidering.  I ended up with that and a little bit more and spent like $50!  Et voila!

all the granny's in the house say yay-yeah!



Ok, so when exactly do you start turning into your mother/grandmother?  If I’m remembering my childhood correctly, my maternal grandmother had loads of these Hummel pictures around her house.  I liked them when I was little because they were kind of cute and, hey, if my grandmother liked them, they had to be awesome, right?  I grew up and left these in childhood because they were a bit too cutesy.   They had like five of these in the store that day.  Most of them were the ultra cute, Precious Moments-style drawings.  These two little darlings caught my eye because they’re so bleak and raw, like they were drawn sometime between the Great Depression and the rise of Nazi Germany.

found landscape art



This one caught my eye because it’s faded and a little sad, like somebody loved it in the early 70’s then gave up on it.  I have no idea where it’s from, but it could be Colorado somewhere.  I was talking to a friend of mine about this picture and I mentioned how I liked it because it seemed sad.  I realized I say that a lot about the art I like. You don’t have to have a D. Psy. to figure that one out, but I’m often drawn to the wistful and gloomy.  I realize that not a lot of other people are and I feel kind of weird citing that as a reason to like anything.

so many frames, just waiting to be filled



Did somebody mention frames?  I mainly bought these to fill with embroidery pieces that I have yet to finish, but I might also use them for general decorating.  The next piece I’m going to do (an embroidery of this) will be bigger than these, maybe 11″x14″, but these will be nice for a low commitment piece when I get tired of working on the big stuff.  Maybe this will finally find a home?

I did manage to find some fabric for embroidering and two vases, but they’re not really worth a picture.  Do you like thrift stores?  What do you like to shop for when you’re in one?

id somebody mention frames
2 Responses to "Goodwillin’"

Ha! I love the statement about internet work. I’ve thought the same about myself many times 🙂

Great thrifting finds.

Hey Dottie, thanks for visiting! I know, right? If we could just figure out who to bill our Internet hours to, we’d make gajillions.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

mah numbas

  • 44,191 hits
March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
