Blog, Sweet Blog

From the files of Internet dating

Posted on: Sunday, October 11, 2009

Mood: feh
Music: Joanna Newsom-Cassiopeia


I’m having a hard time finding the motivation to start my homework.  Maybe a little light blogging will point me in the right direction?

So, one of the reasons I like this new dating site is because they have all of these personality tests and compatibility questionnaires.  The site uses your answers to assign a compatibility score (prolly like eharmony and such) that other members can see.  I like that I can weed out people that are opposed to gay marriage or hate animals…it’s easier than doing it in person.  I also like taking some of the personality tests on the site.  I hate it when other people just post results to their “What Kind of Corn Are You?” quiz (corn salsa), but I’m going to be a quiz-result-posting jerk just this one time…hopefully you won’t think less of me.

I’m posting these today for a couple of reasons.  First, these actually do say something about me (or the person I think I am).  More importantly though, I’m amazed that I’m so easily pegged.  I’ve always fancied myself an exotic, mysterious enigma of a girl and these damn Internet tests seem to see right through me.  And that is…vexing.

LOL, this song just came on…

brains for dinner
brains for lunch
brains for breakfast
brains for brunch
brains at every single meal,
why can’t we have some guts?

Anyway, vexed.  Am I so transparent?  Were my years spent in study of the dramatic and psychological arts for nothing?  Time will tell, I suppose.  Until then, I offer you the following, cheap insight…

The Dating Persona Test:

The Wild Rose

The Wild Rose-Random Brutal Love Dreamer (RBLD)

Colorful, but unpicked. You are The Wild Rose. Prone to bouts of cynicism, sarcasm, and thorns, you excite a certain kind of man. Hoping to gather you up, he flirts and winks and asks you out, ultimately professing his love. Then you make him bleed. Why? Because you’re the rare, independent, self-sufficient kind of woman who does want love, but not from a weakling.

You don’t seem to take yourself too seriously, and that’s refreshing. You aren’t uptight; you don’t over-plan. Romance-wise, sex isn’t a top priority—a true relationship would be preferable. For your age, you haven’t had a lot of bonafide love experience, though, and this kind of gets to core of the issue. You’re very selective.

The problem is them, not you, right? You have lofty standards that few measure up to. You’re out there all right, but not to be picked up by just anyone.

Yeesh, that’s scarily accurate.  Here are some more test/result combinations!

The Politics Test: Democrat (socially and fiscally liberal)

The What Kind of Girl are You Test: The Liberal Beauty (Sarandon-esque…aww, thanks)

The Which Lolcat Are You Test: Longcat (This is relevant to my interests)

The What is your REAL age Test: You are 39 years old!!  (What the fucking fuck?)

The What type of MAN turns you on Test: Mysterious boy (these are getting dumb)

The Quick & Painless ENNEAGRAM Test: 4- the Individualist (surprise!)

What Kind of Feminist Are You Test: Social Concerns Feminist (finally, the truth can be told)

The Nerd? Geek? or Dork? Test: Modern, Cool Nerd (you got that right, Internet)

And that’s it!  I promise I’ll prolly never do this again.

4 Responses to "From the files of Internet dating"

holy cow! I haven’t been on OKCupid in, like, forever. It is cool again – neat. I hope your quiver is full of hotties. 🙂

Well, thanks for outing me, Becca 🙂 I’m not sure that it’s cool again, but I haven’t seen many better sites in the short time I’ve been doing this. Do you use another site? Oh wait, I forgot 🙂 How’s that going?

It is interesting. There was a fun, long night and I do believe there was a cowbell. 😛 oh, I’ve tried some local versions. The queer nerds meet-up was probably the most fun.

Excellent news…I wish you more cowbell! Just so you know, I expect to be asked to be one of your bridesmaids should the need arise, just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

an introduction





Hi, I'm Anna and I love cheese!

This blog is a chronicle of my life and a catalog of happy ephemera. The About page has a little bit more information, but, remember, none of this is really me...it's just a supplement, a thumbnail sketch, a mostly anonymous Intarwebs placeholder. I'm way better/less wordy in person. :-)

Oh, and if I wrote something about you and you thought it was mean or hurtful, I'm sorry. It's how I felt at the time, but probably isn't how I feel now. Chances are, I love you and I think you're awesome.

copyright

All content on Blog, Sweet Blog is copyrighted by me, Anna Hell. Unless otherwise noted, all photos, words, and content on this site are mine, created by me, and should not be used without my permission (or at least attributed and linked back). I try to embed links or quote original source material if I use another person's work.

Click the button thing below to have a delicious li'l slice o' Anna cake* delivered to your emails inbox whenever I write something new!

*N.B. Anna cake contains neither Anna nor cake.

Join 3 other followers

sorted into tiny boxes

archives

i’ve been listening to…

favorite artists this week

flickr photos

More Photos

mah numbas

  • 44,014 hits
October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
